How does my garden grow

Around a month ago my finance surprised me at the suggestion of transforming that run down patio outside our bedroom into the nourishing writing spot for me. I was delighted at the idea and we quickly hurried to the garden centre for pots and plants. Within an afternoon we had turned this desolate scene from summers pastIMG_2173 into a magnificent (not so) secret garden. IMG_2651 This becomes a scorching South France sun trap in the late afternoon so it’s important to keep our leafy friends shaded and watered as much as possible. We have a automatic watering system hooked up that waters twice a day.. It has actually proven way more efficient than we thought and gets switched off regularly. This spot has become the best breakfast spot for our oh so important morning coffee ritual and some early morning writing for me!  IMG_6186 So a month later, how have my flowers faired? We have had a few casualties, one fatal. Our purple pompom plant (note I apologise for my ignorance at it’s official name) began to wilt immediately after potting. I’m not sure what happened here but it was a sad goodbye. I was so pleased with my gorgeous smelling lily plant! It made the whole place smell delicious.. But the heads IMG_6185quickly fell off too (which I don’t think is suppose to happen!?) The storks are still leafy and green and look very healthy, I trimmed the flower bulb down (see photo), but seriously lily-plant-S.O.S! Any advice on how to rescue this beauty would be greatly appreciated. Finally my coral looking plant (again – name ignorance apologies) is beginning to wilt. I’m not sure how much longer that one will last. Fingers crossed for a spontaneous recover! This draws an end to the fatalities because the rest of my plants are thriving in there new homes! Check out how much some of these beauties have grown! IMG_6173 IMG_6177 All the yellow and reddish leaves on my rose plant are new growths and it’s got new buds coming into bloom as we speak! Also this little purple gem (photos below) is absolutely buzzing with buds of life! My leafy greens are growing to fill their pots and it feels fantastic to be surrounded my thriving new life fighting to become itself! I have even spotted the occasional frog enjoying our watering trays!

xoxo

IMG_6179 IMG_6176

Leave a Reply

