Elsa Drawing – Frozen

Screen Shot 2016-02-23 at 09.59.59One of the rubs about living between two countries is that occasionally the things I really want are a few thousand miles away. Hugs, cuddles, hair spray.. It sucks. Oh and my art stuff – ALL of it!! Even down to my pencil case, rubber and ruler. Without means of creative expression I have, over time, gone a bit cranky.

Yesterday there was only one thing for it – an emergency run to the art shop. Within about 5 minutes of being in my room I was sketching out the skeleton for Elsa and giving the poor woman some skin!

IMG_4587

The most difficult thing about this drawing was getting her left eye to look correct – I scribbled this out a few times and re-drew it since the original progress shot of the sketch. This is the first time I’ve drawn anything since last summer so there was a bit of re-teething with the Promarker pens to make the colours blend nicely. I also purchased some Promarker-brushtipped pens just to mix things up a bit and LOVED them. I found they flowed much more fluidly on the page and they are really great for creating a textured effect for hair. However, unlike the solid tip pens their is less control so I’d probably advice against using them for small detailed parts.

It wasn’t until I drew the iris that I realised I forgot to pick up a black marker! Doh! So I left blind-Elsa in my room while I scurried back to picked up a black Promarker to finish her off!

FullSizeRender-2

I’m really pleased with this somewhat Asian and sexualised Elsa! It’s the first time I’ve drawn hair this light and I’m really pleased with how effective the shading looks!

-xoxo-

 

 

Leave a Reply

