Nesting

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 10.33.01

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 10.33.30I woke up this morning feeling so happy and peaceful. I love our new house so much and it’s just such a delight to wake up and feel the sun beaming through the bedroom window and see the green leaves of spring swaying around on the trees outside. It actually feels like being in a magical wonderland and I’ve already started to leave little nests around the place! This is my view when I study outside in the sunshine – with silence except for the tweeting of birds and the humming of bees.

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 17.43.04And for when the clouds sneak up and it gets chilly, or people are here doing work on the house and I want to hide incase they try to talk to me in French – I have a inside study sanctuary set up which is ‘oh so adorable!’

However right now the place that makes my toes wriggle with excitement is my dressing room. That’s right – I have my very own space to fill with girly things and feel fabulous in! Like everything else – it is not finished yet and still has some work to be done. Alas I’ve never had a dressing room and NOT having my clothes crammed in plastic storage drawers (like in my uni-room) or make up hidden away in multiple bags actually makes me feel like royalty! I’m not sure if I’m going to redecorate this little pink palace – I was thinking maybe a chic grey, but I also love, love, love the pink so I’m in no hurry!

Screen Shot 2016-04-15 at 10.33.43

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 17.43.22The first week of moving was actually waaaaay more stressful, chaotic and busy than I naively imagined. While my little study nests and dressing rooms are fabulous set-up’s, the rest of the house is a different story – it’s messy, chaotic, cluttered and drowning in boxes. Playing the “rummage through boxes looking for a specific item” game has become a regular feature in our lives and it is likely to remain for the upcoming months while we slowly unpack and redecorate in between work, revision and general life. While that’s both tedious and exciting, after just 5 days in the new house I find myself sitting in the garden, working on my tan, merrily revising away for my exams and it is DELIGHTFUL to feel so content and happy in a place that is really starting to reflect what we are about! The new castle has so much character and charm both inside and out. One of my favourite little quirks is the port hole windows cleverly hidden in the walls from the studio. Opening one of these lets in a beautiful breeze and the chirping of happy birdies!

IMG_0752

Yesterday the pool-people came to start work on re-lining the pool and we got our first glimpse at what was under that short green house! .. Turns out it’s not a bottomless pit, or a stairway to china.. BUT we did have to rescue a family of frogs who had taken up residence! Well we are in France.. Of course we had to rescue a frog or two! Don’t worry though they have a whooooole wild life pond they can frolic in!

I’m already completely in love with this place, and I know that when it’s a little more organised and a little more functional, it’s going to be a great home to thrive in!

-xoxo-

Leave a Reply

